Dinesh Karthik Penned A Heartfelt Tweet After His Selection In India’s Squad For T20 World Cup 2022

0 323

India’s currently most experienced and power packed keeper-batsman, Dinesh Karthik was on cloud 9 as soon as India’s T20 World Cup squad got announced and he saw his name in the list. He has had a dream run in the 2022 and it just continues to get better.

On Monday 12th September, 2022 Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the long awaited India’s T20 World Cup 2022 squad, in which Dinesh Karthik’s name was included, post which he got emotional and couldn’t hold his excitement back . DK was an integral part of the t20 group which won the debut T20 World Cup back in 2007 under the captaincy of Mr. Captain Cool, MS Dhoni and after 15 years, the 37-year-old is as yet continuing forward.


Dinesh Karthik Bowls 1st Over In International Cricket During India-Afghanistan Asia Cup Game
Image Source: News Image


After India’s team declaration, DK took to his personal social media account to express what he felt. He wrote: “Dreams do come true💙” 

For sure, it has been nothing but a fairytale for Dinesh Karthik, who got back in the game to the Indian side recently for the home T20I series against South Africa in June after a few flawless outings with the bat for his IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the 2022 season of the IPL. Karthik had not played any international cricket before that series since India’s 2019 heart-breaking World Cup loss to the Kiwi’s.

In the mean time, Karthik is one of two keeper-batsmen in the Indian side along-with Rishabh Pant. The unit likewise welcomes the arrival of Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel, both the cricketers who were ruled out of the Asia Cup 2022, on account of injury issues. While Ravindra Jadeja unfortunately won’t be a part of the team due to an ongoing injury, which will take a couple of months to heal. Axar Patel has been named as his substitution.

India’s squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, B Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Standby players – Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.