Fact Check: Dale Steyn never had Sachin Tendulkar plumb in the 190’s during his 200 at Gwalior

0

It is the quarantine days and not just in India but all around the world, people have no choice but to stay at home and break the chain. In India our favourite cricketers have been at it, be it insta lives or media interactions. This phenomenon is not just limited to Indian cricketers though, recently two of the greatest fast bowlers of the modern era Jimmy Anderson and Dale Steyn featured together in a vodcast.

The two interacted with former England captain Nasser Hussain and host Rob Key for about an hour and spoke about various things from their journeys to their actions etc. Rob Key then highlighted their battles with Sachin Tendulkar and both the players admitted that they had to bring out their best when the Master came into bat.

Steyn says worried umpire refused to give Tendulkar out en route ...
Source: Yahoo Sports

While the mood of the show was kept refreshingly casual, Dale Steyn probably felt that truth shouldn’t come in the way of a good anecdote and said that he had Sachin plumb in the 190’s on his way to a historic first ever double century in ODI’s. He said that Ian Gould didn’t give him out because he wanted to go to the hotel safely. While it was good for laughs, we did a fact check and it turns out, Dale bowled three balls at Sachin in the 190’s and none of them hit the pads. In fact, throughout that innings Steyn bowled a total of 31 deliveries at the Master and none of them came close to being plumb LBW.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.