Former chief selector MSK Prasad picks India’s Test and T20 12’s should they happen on the same day post Covid-19


With the Covid-19 disturbing the cricketing calendar and putting the ICC’s Future Tours Programme (FTP) in tatters, there is a strong possibility of a wall to wall schedule, which could mean that all format players would need to pick and choose the format that they play. So for instance, there could be a T20 game, 2 days after a Test match and to avoid a burnout and risk injury the selectors might have to go with different T20 and Test teams.

Former chief selector MSK Prasad wore the selectors hat again and chose a different 12 man team for both formats, should the need arise.

Test 12

He went with the current duo of Rohit and Mayank Agarwal as the openers. No surprises as Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat, Ajinkya Rahane and Hanuma Vihari formed the solid middle order. The wicket keeping duties were left to Wriddhiman Saha, with Jadeja and Ashwin handling the spin bowling mantle. Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami would make up the seam bowling department in Test cricket according to Prasad.

Test 12 – Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah.

BCCI announces Team India squad for upcoming T20I and ODI series ...
Source: DNA India

T20I 12

With Rohit opening in Tests, it was pretty much a no brainer that KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan would open in T20Is. With Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey and Rishab Pant forming the middle order followed by the Pandya brothers to finish things off batting wise. Bhuvaneshwar Kumar is the most experienced bowler in MSK’s T20 team with Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep, Chahal and Navdeep Saini forming the rest of the bowling department.

T20 12 – Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishab Pant, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.