Great news for Cricket fans as West Indies finalise the England tour by announcing the touring squad


In what can only be seen as a breath of fresh air for all cricket lovers around the globe, West Indies Cricket board has agreed to England’s proposal for a Test series in England and have announced their 25 member touring party. There were some promising signs earlier when England had announced a 55 player potential squad that would isolate themselves and train in a biosecure environment.

The Windies have announced a 14 member squad along with an 11 member backup team that would be touring English shores on charter planes and would be isolated for 14 days where they will be allowed to practice. It must be noted that three key players, Darren Bravo, Shemron Hetmyer and Keemo Paul have denied to tour and are therefore missing from the squad.

West Indies name unchanged squad for Zimbabwe Tour | Cricket News ...
Source: India TV

The matches will be played behind closed doors and there are plenty of new names in the Windies squad. Nkrumah Bonner and Chemar Holder earn their maiden call up after impressing in domestic cricket. The first Test match will be played on July 8 at the Hampshire bowl in Southampton followed by two matches at Old Trafford on 16th and 24th July respectively.

Windies squad of 14 – Jason Holder (c), J Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, K Braithwaite, S Brooks, J Campbell, R Chase, R Cornwall, S Dowrich (wk), C Holder, S Hope, A Joseph, R Reifer, K Roach.

Windies back up squad – Sunil Ambris, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Keon Harding, Kyle Mayers, Preston McSween, Marqino Mindley, Shane Moseley, Anderson Philip, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Worrican.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.